Compare

PixelLab vs Retro Diffusion: pixel art pricing and licence

Side-by-side from each vendor's own pricing and terms pages, checked 2026-10-15. Prices shown exactly as displayed (promos and billing period noted).

The licence question first

PixelLabRetro Diffusion
Free tierFree trial: 40 fast generations, then 5 daily slower generations (store up to 20); images up to 200x200Free starting balance for new accounts ('enough for dozens of generations with RD Fast'), no card required
Paid price (as shown)Tier 1 $12/mo (2,000 gens); Tier 2 $24/mo (5,000); Tier 3 $50/mo (10,000)Pay per generation from prepaid balance: RD Pro $0.18/image; RD Plus $0.06/image; RD Fast $0.03/image; animations from $0.07/clip
Credits / cost per assetSome tools use more than one generation per image$0.03-$0.18 per image depending on model; animations from $0.07 per clip
Licence: free tierCommercial use allowed on free tier ('Use generated images commercially***')Terms: outputs (including from free usage) are owned by the person who generated them
Licence: paidCommercial use; 'The user owns the rights to the generations with the exception of using them to train models'Same: outputs owned by the generator
Export / enginesAseprite workflow and Pixelorama-based editor mentioned; engine export not statedLow-poly 3D export for Godot, Unity, Unreal, Blender, Blockbench, Minecraft; SpriteFusion tileset export
API / MCPAPI access and MCP 'AI Agent Toolkit' (Claude Code, Cursor) listed on free tierHTTP API and hosted MCP server (homepage)
Affiliatenot statednot stated

Sources

Get the weekly what-changed email

Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.

Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.