2D, pixel art & sprites

Sprite sheets, pixel art, concept art, tiles and UI. 11 tools tracked. Picks: Best AI tools for pixel art and sprite sheets · ship with no attribution.

ToolFree tierPaid price (as shown)Commercial licenceAPI / MCPChecked
Scenario
2D, pixel art & sprites
50 free daily credits, no credit card (per pricing page footer)
Starter $15/mo (1,500 credits); Pro $45/mo (5,000); Max $75/mo (10,000); Enterprise custom
Free: Terms s.4.3 (v2.1.1, updated Jul 16, 2026): 'You own your Generated Assets'; Scenario assigns you all right, title and interest, including commercial use. Applies to every plan; the Free Tier is a defined plan (s.3.1)
Paid: Same s.4.3 grant; pricing page: 'You own your generated assets. Use them commercially, sell them, modify them'
MCP Server and API Reference linked from site footer
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: verified
PixelLab
2D, pixel art & sprites
Free trial: 40 fast generations, then 5 daily slower generations (store up to 20); images up to 200x200
Tier 1 $12/mo (2,000 gens); Tier 2 $24/mo (5,000); Tier 3 $50/mo (10,000)
Free: Commercial use allowed on free tier ('Use generated images commercially***')
Paid: Commercial use; 'The user owns the rights to the generations with the exception of using them to train models'
API access and MCP 'AI Agent Toolkit' (Claude Code, Cursor) listed on free tier
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: verified
Ludo.ai
2D, pixel art & sprites
'Start free' offered; free credit amount not shown on pricing page
Indie $15/mo billed annually ($180/yr, 3,000 credits/yr); Pro $35/mo billed annually ($420/yr, 12,000 credits/yr); Studio $300/mo billed annually
Free: Docs FAQ: the person who initiates the generation is the full owner and may use, share or monetize it. Free-plan sprite sheet downloads carry a Ludo watermark
Paid: Docs FAQ: you own generated content and may monetize it; watermark removed on any paid plan (retroactively)
API, MCP and CLI on Pro and Studio (not Indie); calls always use credits
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: verified
Layer
2D, pixel art & sprites
not stated
Usage-based Creative Units (CUs); example Small Studio calculator total $60.00/mo; $0 per seat
Free: not stated
Paid: Commercial license for all users (pricing page)
API access, webhook access; MCP linked in nav
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: partial
Leonardo.Ai
2D, pixel art & sprites
Free: 150 fast tokens/day, public creations
Essential $12/mo (8,500 tokens); Premium $30/mo (25,000); Ultimate $60/mo (60,000); Teams from $24/seat
Free: Terms 8.7: on free subscriptions, ownership of Outputs vests in Leonardo
Paid: Terms 8.3: on paid subscriptions, ownership of Content vests in you
Pay-as-you-go API; API credit doesn't expire
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: verified
AutoSprite
2D, pixel art & sprites
Free: 15 monthly credits (up to 3 spritesheets), 2 standard-res unlocks/mo, 3 bonus daily credits
Starter $16/mo ($12 yearly, 500 credits); Pro $39/mo ($29 yearly, 1,500 credits); Enterprise $129/mo ($99 yearly)
Free: Terms s.4 (effective Sep 9, 2026): you own the rights in spritesheets and other outputs generated for you, to the extent permitted by your inputs and third-party materials. Not limited by plan
Paid: Same s.4 grant (terms do not differ by plan)
API and MCP on Pro and above
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: verified
Gamelabs Studio
2D, pixel art & sprites
Free trial: 20 credits forever, all features
Indie $10/mo (120 credits); Pro $20/mo (250); Studio $50/mo (650); one-time credit bundles also offered
Free: Full commercial rights stated for all generated assets ('No attribution required')
Paid: Full commercial rights, no attribution required
Studio + MCP + API access on all monthly plans; works in Cursor/VS Code
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: verified
Retro Diffusion
2D, pixel art & sprites
Free starting balance for new accounts ('enough for dozens of generations with RD Fast'), no card required
Pay per generation from prepaid balance: RD Pro $0.18/image; RD Plus $0.06/image; RD Fast $0.03/image; animations from $0.07/clip
Free: Terms: outputs (including from free usage) are owned by the person who generated them
Paid: Same: outputs owned by the generator
HTTP API and hosted MCP server (homepage)
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: verified
Recraft
2D, pixel art & sprites
Free: limited credits, 3 generations per style/day; images public
Basic $10/mo billed annually ($120/yr, 1,000 credits); Pro $16/mo billed annually; Teams $18/seat/mo billed annually
Free: Free plan images owned by Recraft, public, not licensed for commercial use
Paid: Paid plans: full ownership and commercial rights, kept after cancelling
API billed in API Units
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: verified
SpriteCook
2D, pixel art & sprites
Free: 40 credits every 30 days (about 5 standard 1K images), all generation modes, no card; free generations appear in the public gallery
Starter $8/mo (800 credits); Adventurer $30/mo (3,000); Archmage $70/mo (7,000)
Free: Pricing FAQ: commercial use on every plan including Free; no credit to SpriteCook required
Paid: Same; private assets on paid plans; you keep assets if you cancel
API and MCP access on all plans including Free
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: verified
Pixel Engine
2D, pixel art & sprites
Free: $0, 100 credits/month (starter credits)
Plus $12/mo (2,000 credits); Pro $20/mo (4,000); Ultra $60/mo (12,000)
Free: Terms (effective Oct 1, 2026): you may use what Pixel Engine generates for any purpose, including in commercial games. Not limited by plan
Paid: Same (terms do not differ by plan)
HTTP API (/animate, /generate-image) and MCP server
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: verified

Get the weekly what-changed email

Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.

Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.