Best for

Best AI image upscalers for game art and textures (2026)

Picks based only on what each vendor's own pricing and terms pages say (checked 2026-10-15): can you ship it, what it costs, and whether your agent can call it. We don't rank by output quality.

Free and open source

Upscayl

Upscayl's desktop app is free under AGPL-3.0, which governs the app, not your images. Runs locally on Windows, macOS and Linux. The bundled AI models carry their own licences, which we did not review.

Desktop upscaler with commercial limits

Topaz Gigapixel

Topaz Gigapixel is $29/mo; Topaz Studio (all apps) $69/mo. Both list 'Limited commercial use' for organizations under $1M annual revenue.

Upscaler inside a full AI suite

Magnific

Magnific's paid plans (Premium $20/mo, $14.50 billed annually) list a 'Commercial AI license'. Its Terms exclude AI-generated content from the stock-content IP indemnity.

All tracked options

ToolFree tierPaid price (as shown)Commercial licenceAPI / MCPChecked
Upscayl
2D, pixel art & sprites
Desktop app is free and open source (AGPL-3.0); runs locally
Free (desktop); Upscayl Cloud is a separate paid service (prices not verified)
Free: App licence is GNU AGPL v3.0, which covers the software, not your images; it places no restriction on using images you upscale
Paid: n/a (desktop app has no paid tier)
unverified
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: partial
Topaz Gigapixel
2D, pixel art & sprites
not stated
Gigapixel Personal $29/mo; Topaz Studio (all apps) $69/mo
Free: n/a (no free tier listed)
Paid: Pricing page: 'Limited commercial use*: Personal and commercial use for orgs under $1M USD annual revenue'
API listed in site footer
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: partial
Magnific
2D, pixel art & sprites
not stated
Premium $20/mo ($14.50/mo billed annually, 240K credits/yr); Premium+ $45/mo ($33.75 annually, 600K credits/yr); Pro Starter $110/mo ($82.50 annually, 1.5M credits/yr)
Free: n/a (no free tier listed)
Paid: Pricing page: 'Commercial AI license' on paid plans ('Commercial AI license + music rights' from Premium+). Terms of Use (June 2026): AI-generated content is governed by separate AI Products Terms, which we did not review
API access with credit-based usage; Magnific MCP & plugins
2026-10-15
price: verified licence: partial

Compare cost per asset in the calculator · Commercial-use answers · Ship with no attribution

Get the weekly what-changed email

Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.

Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.