Compare

PixelLab vs SpriteCook: pixel art sprites, credits and licence

Side-by-side from each vendor's own pricing and terms pages, checked 2026-10-15. Prices shown exactly as displayed (promos and billing period noted).

The licence question first

PixelLabSpriteCook
Free tierFree trial: 40 fast generations, then 5 daily slower generations (store up to 20); images up to 200x200Free: 40 credits every 30 days (about 5 standard 1K images), all generation modes, no card; free generations appear in the public gallery
Paid price (as shown)Tier 1 $12/mo (2,000 gens); Tier 2 $24/mo (5,000); Tier 3 $50/mo (10,000)Starter $8/mo (800 credits); Adventurer $30/mo (3,000); Archmage $70/mo (7,000)
Credits / cost per assetSome tools use more than one generation per imageStandard 1K image = 8 credits (~100 images on Starter); animations, higher resolutions and some models cost more
Licence: free tierCommercial use allowed on free tier ('Use generated images commercially***')Pricing FAQ: commercial use on every plan including Free; no credit to SpriteCook required
Licence: paidCommercial use; 'The user owns the rights to the generations with the exception of using them to train models'Same; private assets on paid plans; you keep assets if you cancel
Export / enginesAseprite workflow and Pixelorama-based editor mentioned; engine export not statedUnity, Godot, Phaser and sprite sheet exports on paid plans; PNG/ZIP on all
API / MCPAPI access and MCP 'AI Agent Toolkit' (Claude Code, Cursor) listed on free tierAPI and MCP access on all plans including Free
Affiliatenot statednot stated

Sources

Get the weekly what-changed email

Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.

Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.