Topaz Gigapixel vs Magnific: AI upscaler pricing and commercial licence
Side-by-side from each vendor's own pricing and terms pages, checked 2026-10-15. Prices shown exactly as displayed (promos and billing period noted).
The licence question first
- Topaz Gigapixel: free tier: n/a. Paid: commercial use allowed with conditions (Pricing page: 'Limited commercial use*: Personal and commercial use for orgs under $1M USD annual revenue'). Details
- Magnific: free tier: n/a. Paid: commercial use allowed (Pricing page: 'Commercial AI license' on paid plans ('Commercial AI license + music rights' from Premium+). Terms of Use (June 2026): AI-generated content is governed by separate AI Products Terms, which we did not review). Details
| Topaz Gigapixel | Magnific | |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | not stated | not stated |
| Paid price (as shown) | Gigapixel Personal $29/mo; Topaz Studio (all apps) $69/mo | Premium $20/mo ($14.50/mo billed annually, 240K credits/yr); Premium+ $45/mo ($33.75 annually, 600K credits/yr); Pro Starter $110/mo ($82.50 annually, 1.5M credits/yr) |
| Credits / cost per asset | Unlimited local and cloud image rendering | Credit-based; credit cost varies per model and tool |
| Licence: free tier | n/a (no free tier listed) | n/a (no free tier listed) |
| Licence: paid | Pricing page: 'Limited commercial use*: Personal and commercial use for orgs under $1M USD annual revenue' | Pricing page: 'Commercial AI license' on paid plans ('Commercial AI license + music rights' from Premium+). Terms of Use (June 2026): AI-generated content is governed by separate AI Products Terms, which we did not review |
| Export / engines | Desktop app; local and cloud rendering | Image, video and audio models plus Magnific and Topaz upscalers |
| Engine integrations | not stated | MCP server: yes |
| API / MCP | API listed in site footer | API access with credit-based usage; Magnific MCP & plugins |
| IP indemnity | Not reviewed yet | Vendor says IP indemnity is not included; you must indemnify the vendor |
| Affiliate | not stated | not stated |
Sources
- https://www.topazlabs.com/gigapixel
- https://docs.topazlabs.com/sales-account-licensing/before-you-buy/terms
- https://www.magnific.ai/pricing
- https://www.magnific.com/legal/terms-of-use
Get the weekly what-changed email
Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.